Compound reference

Selank Dosing and N-Acetyl Selank Amidate: What Exists

By the Decadewise team Education only Last updated 10 August 2026 30 cited sources

Short answer

A seven-residue peptide built out of tuftsin: Selank is Thr-Lys-Pro-Arg-Pro-Gly-Pro, the four-residue immune peptide tuftsin with Pro-Gly-Pro hung off the end, registered as an anxiolytic in Russia.

Every amount in the published record is an animal amount: the figure that recurs across the rat and mouse work is 300mcg per kilogram, and the full published span runs from 80mcg per kilogram to 10mg per kilogram.

The human papers do not print one: five human studies dosed 62, 60 and 70 patients, an unstated number more, and 52 healthy participants, and no abstract among them publishes a milligram figure.

The analog has no literature under its own name: n-acetyl selank amidate returns nothing in PubMed and has no chemical-database entry, while the matching semax analog has one.

And no trial of it is registered: no ClinicalTrials.gov record is a study of this compound, against 21 for a comparable peptide.

The calculator

A converter, and deliberately nothing more: it takes a vial strength, a water volume, a syringe scale, a barrel size and any milligram figure worth checking, and returns the strength of that mix and where the figure lands on the barrel. Since no source on this page names a human amount, the last field starts empty and stays empty until somebody types into it.

Units converter

Converts the numbers you type. It does not recommend a dose.

Concentration5 mg per mL
Volume to drawenter a dose
Reads as

Arithmetic only. This is arithmetic on the numbers entered. It has no knowledge of any real vial, reconstitution, or syringe. The concentration divides the vial amount by the water you add, treating that water as the finished volume; finished volume and water added are not the same quantity, but for a vial holding a few milligrams of peptide and nothing else that difference is far below anything a syringe can show.

The Decadewise briefing

One compound, one paper, or one piece of math like this, every week. Free.

Education only. Unsubscribe anytime.

On this page

Selank dosage chart: every published amount, with species and route

One row per source, species printed beside the number: every Selank amount named in the papers at the foot of this page, with the route and the animal it was given to alongside it. The five human studies are in the chart too, and their amount column is empty, because not one of them publishes a figure. That blank is the single most useful cell in the table.

Read the species column before the number: nothing below was measured in a person. A figure expressed per kilogram of a rat is a laboratory quantity, not a human amount waiting to be scaled up, and the section further down sets out why this page performs no such conversion.

One molecule, one name: unlike most compounds this library covers, Selank travels under a single name in the literature. The papers that describe it structurally spell out the sequence, Thr-Lys-Pro-Arg-Pro-Gly-Pro, and a 2022 survey of Russian peptide drugs lists it in full as L-threonyl-L-lysyl-L-prolyl-L-arginyl-L-prolylglycyl-L-proline.

Selank dosage chart, one row per source
SourceAmount givenRouteSpecies and modelFrequency and duration
Zozulia 2008, Zh Nevrol PsikhiatrNone published in the abstractNot stated in the abstract62 patients, generalized anxiety disorder and neurastheniaNot stated in the abstract
Medvedev 2014, Zh Nevrol PsikhiatrNone published in the abstractNot stated in the abstract60 patients, phobic-anxiety and somatoform disordersNot stated in the abstract
Medvedev 2015, Zh Nevrol PsikhiatrNone published in the abstractNot stated in the abstract70 patients, 40 on selank added to phenazepam and 30 on phenazepam aloneNot stated in the abstract
Uchakina 2008, Zh Nevrol PsikhiatrNone published in the abstractNot stated in the abstractPatients with generalized anxiety disorder and neurasthenia14 days
Panikratova 2020, Dokl Biol SciNone published in the abstractInjection, route not named in the abstract52 healthy participants, resting-state fMRISingle administration, imaged before and at 5 and 20 minutes
Konstantinopolsky 2022, Bull Exp Biol Med0.3mg per kgIntraperitonealRats, morphine withdrawalSingle injection
Kolik 2019, Bull Exp Biol Med0.3mg per kg per dayIntraperitonealOutbred rats, ethanol-induced memory impairmentDaily, 7 days
Kolik 2016, Bull Exp Biol Med0.3mg per kgIntraperitonealDBA/2 mice, ethanol-induced hyperlocomotionSingle injection
Vasil'eva 2016, Eksp Klin Farmakol300mcg per kg per dayIntranasal and intraperitoneal, comparedBALB/c and C57BL/6 miceDaily, 5 days
Volkova 2016, Front Pharmacol300mcg per kgNot stated in the abstractRats, frontal cortex gene expressionSingle administration, measured at 1 and 3 hours
Fomenko 2019, Bull Exp Biol Med100, 300 and 1000mcg per kgIntraperitonealRats, chronic foot-shock stress, liver15 minutes before each stress session
Mukhina 2020, Bull Exp Biol Med80, 250 and 750mcg per kgIntraperitonealRats, chronic restraint stress, large intestine15 minutes before stress exposure
Kolomin 2011, Regul Pept100mcg per kgIntraperitonealMice, spleen gene expressionSingle injection, measured at 6 and 24 hours
Kolomin 2014, Mol Immunol100mcg per kgIntraperitonealMice, spleen inflammation-related genesSingle injection
Yasenyavskaya 2021, Curr Rev Clin Exp Pharmacol100mcg per kg per dayIntraperitonealMale mice, social stress by sensory contactDaily, 20 days
Meshavkin 2006, Bull Exp Biol Med0.01, 0.1, 1.0 and 10.0mg per kgIntraperitonealMice, apomorphine verticalization testSingle injection per dose level
Kozlovskii 2012, Eksp Klin Farmakol0.25mg per kgIntraperitonealBALB/C and C57BL/6 mice, open fieldSingle injection
Kozlovskii 2013, Eksp Klin Farmakol0.5mg per kgIntraperitonealRats, actinomycin D memory modelNot stated in the abstract
Kozlovskii 2003, Neurosci Behav Physiol300mcg per kgNot stated in the abstractRats, conditioned active avoidanceNot stated in the abstract
Gan'shina 2005, Eksp Klin Farmakol300mg per kg, as the abstract prints itIntravenousAnesthetized male cats, blood pressure and cerebral blood flowSingle injection, measured over 1 to 10 minutes
Inozemtseva 2008, Dokl Biol SciNone published in the abstractIntranasalRats, hippocampal BDNF expressionNot stated in the abstract
Kobylyanskii 2017, Bull Exp Biol Med0.1 to 100 micromolarIn vitro, added to cultureMouse embryonic stem cellsNot applicable, cell culture
Sources: each row is the abstract of the paper named in its first column, retrieved from the PubMed record on 9 August 2026. Where a cell reads "not stated in the abstract" or "none published in the abstract", the full text was not open to us and we did not assume a value for it. The five human rows are Zozulia et al. 2008 (PMID 18454096), Medvedev et al. 2014 (PMID 25176261), Medvedev et al. 2015 (PMID 26356395), Uchakina et al. 2008 (PMID 18577961) and Panikratova et al. 2020 (PMID 32342318). The first four are Russian-language papers whose English abstracts describe the design and the outcome scales without naming an amount; the fifth is an English-language imaging study in healthy participants whose abstract records an injection and no amount. The Gan'shina row is printed exactly as its abstract has it, and the discrepancy it carries is discussed below rather than corrected here. No row in this table is a recommended amount, and only one human row, Panikratova 2020, was measured in healthy participants; the other four human rows are patient studies.

The conversion this page does not perform: not one of the animal figures above is carried across into a human amount anywhere on this page. Body-weight scaling between species is not division, the sources give no factor for it, and inventing one would turn a laboratory quantity into a dose nobody tested.

The conversion this page does perform: milligrams into syringe units, further down. That one is division, and it holds for whatever figure goes into it, whatever the figure means.

Did the human trials publish a dose?

No, and that is the finding rather than a gap in our reading: five human studies of Selank are indexed, and every one of them describes its population, its comparator and its measurement instruments while naming no amount in the abstract. Four are patient studies published in the same Russian journal between 2008 and 2015. The largest compared 30 patients on selank against 32 on medazepam inside a 62-patient study of generalized anxiety disorder and neurasthenia.

The fifth is the one worth knowing about, because it is not a patient study: a 2020 imaging paper in an English-language journal gave Selank, Semax or placebo by injection to 52 healthy participants and scanned resting-state brain connectivity before the injection and again at 5 and 20 minutes. It is the only study we found that administered this compound to healthy people and measured anything, and its abstract records the injection without recording how much. Two of its seven authors also appear on the 2008 patient paper, so it is not an independent replication of that work.

What the four do settle: that people were treated, how many, with what compared against it, and on which instruments. Zozulia and colleagues reported anxiolytic effects similar to medazepam with additional antiasthenic and psychostimulant effects. Medvedev and colleagues in 2014 reported a pronounced anxiolytic and mild nootropic effect across 60 patients that persisted for a week after the last dose, and in 2015 added selank to phenazepam in 40 patients against 30 on the benzodiazepine alone.

Why the missing number matters more here than usual: a compound registered as a medicine in one country has a national label somewhere, and that document specifies an amount. We could not retrieve it, so this page does not print it, does not paraphrase it, and does not reconstruct it from a secondary summary. What is on this page is what we opened.

The English-language reviews do not fill the hole either: the three we read describe Selank as a Russian-registered anxiolytic given as nasal drops and report that human testing has shown reduced anxiety scores over about two weeks, and none of the three prints a milligram figure. One of them states plainly that there is a current lack of clinical trials, and a 2020 analytical paper says the compound has not completed any.

What that means for a dosage chart: the honest version of this page's central table has five human rows with an empty amount column. Why dosing charts disagree with each other covers what usually fills a blank like that one, which is another chart rather than a document.

What is N-acetyl selank amidate?

A name with no record behind it: a PubMed search for the phrase returns zero records, and a chemical-structure lookup by that name returns no entry. Both searches were run on 9 August 2026 and both are reproducible in one command.

What the name is describing: two ordinary modifications to a peptide, an acetyl group capping the front end and an amide capping the back. The 2022 survey of Russian peptide drugs sets out why that is done to a peptide at all, that the exopeptidases, aminopeptidases and carboxypeptidases in blood, plasma, liver and kidney hydrolyze sequences from the N and C termini, so N-acylation and C-amidation can potentially increase resistance to proteolysis. The name is chemically coherent. Coherent is not the same as documented.

Where the naming pattern comes from, and this is the checkable part: the same construction exists for semax, the other Russian nootropic peptide of that generation, and there it resolves. A chemical-database lookup for n-acetyl semax amidate returns a compound record; the same lookup for the selank version returns nothing. Selank itself returns a record. So the database holds the parent compound and holds the sibling analog, and the gap sits exactly where this page's subject would be.

What we are not saying: that the molecule cannot be made, or that nothing by that description is in circulation. A negative database result is a statement about the databases, not about chemistry or about commerce. What it rules out is the thing a reader most needs ruled out, which is a body of published work on the modified compound.

The practical consequence for anything labeled with that name: there is no published amount for it, in any species, because there is no published study of it. Every figure in the chart above belongs to unmodified Selank in an animal, and a modification that changes how fast a peptide is broken down is exactly the kind of change that would move an amount if anyone had measured one. Reading a certificate of analysis covers what a document accompanying such a vial can and cannot establish about what is in it.

How often was Selank given, and over how long?

Most of the animal work was a single injection: the morphine-withdrawal study, the hyperlocomotion study, the apomorphine study, the two spleen gene-expression studies and the cat cardiovascular study each gave one administration and measured from there. That is a pharmacology design, not a course of treatment.

The repeated schedules that do exist are short: 5 days in the mouse study that compared the nasal and abdominal routes, 7 days in the rat ethanol study, and 20 days in the social-stress study, which is the longest repeated animal schedule in this set. Two of the stress studies timed the injection 15 minutes before each stress session rather than on a clock.

The only human duration in the record: 14 days, from the immunology paper, which is the one human report that states a length at all. The 2014 comparison adds an observation rather than a schedule, that the anxiolytic effect it measured lasted for a week after the last administration.

No cycle, no off period, no maintenance schedule appears anywhere: not in the animal work, not in the four human reports, and not in the three reviews. Any such pattern attached to this compound came from outside the literature described on this page.

Which route did the Selank studies use?

Into the abdominal cavity, which is where most of the animal work went: intraperitoneal injection is named in twelve of the rows above, one of them alongside the nasal route in the same study. It is a laboratory route. It is not used in people, and it has no equivalent in anything sold in a vial.

Intranasal, in the studies closest to the human product: two animal studies used the nasal route, one measuring hippocampal BDNF in rats and one comparing the nasal and abdominal routes head to head in mice at the same 300mcg per kilogram. That comparison is the more interesting of the two: the two routes produced different receptor-binding profiles, an increase in one marker after the abdominal route and in a different marker after the nasal route, and the authors attributed the divergence to pharmacokinetics and biotransformation rather than to potency.

The route the reviews describe for people: nasal drops. Two 2026 reviews describe Selank and semax as formulated for intranasal administration to reach the central nervous system, and a 2020 analytical study of seized preparations found the compound circulating both as a lyophilized powder for injection and in nasal sprays.

Why the route sits underneath the number rather than beside it: a quantity delivered into the peritoneal cavity of a rat and a quantity sprayed into a human nose are not the same measurement, and the one comparison in this literature that changed only the route reported different results at an identical amount. What a lyophilized peptide is covers why the powder form gets sold that way and what the drying step does and does not settle about the contents.

Circulation, described by the people who measured it

What is actually in circulation?

This section does not rest on forum reading: two peer-reviewed papers describe the circulation of this compound directly, which is unusual and worth using. Neither is a dosing source and neither is quoted here as one.

What analytical chemists found: a 2020 study reported two suspicious preparations seized at the end of 2017 and in 2018 that turned out to contain Selank and semax, and recorded that an online search, excluding the dark web, showed these peptides freely available as lyophilized powder for injection or in nasal sprays. The paper's stated reason for developing its detection method was that such peptides, in its own words, have not completed any clinical trials.

What a clinical pharmacology review said about the same market: that phenibut and selank are poorly studied Russian drugs with GABAergic mechanisms that are inexplicably sold to US consumers as dietary supplements. That sentence is a characterization of a supply chain by a peer-reviewed source, which is a different thing from a prevalence estimate we made up.

What this page will not reconstruct: we found no published amount, schedule or cycle length for human use in any source we could open, so this page prints none of the three. There is a difference between reporting that a market exists, which two journals have documented, and repeating numbers from that market as though a document stood behind them.

Peer-reviewed research

What does the research show?

The mechanism work is the strongest part of the file: a 2018 receptor study reported that Selank acts on GABA binding as a positive allosteric modulator, that its joint action with benzodiazepines is not simply additive, and that it can block the modulatory activity of diazepam and olanzapine, which the authors read as binding sites that may partly overlap without being the same.

The gene-expression work is consistent and small: a single 300mcg per kilogram administration changed expression among 84 genes involved in GABAergic neurotransmission in rat frontal cortex at 1 and 3 hours, and 100mcg per kilogram changed inflammation-related gene expression in mouse spleen at 6 and 24 hours. These are molecular readouts in animals, not clinical outcomes.

The behavioral animal results are positive and narrow: 0.3mg per kilogram cut a composite morphine-withdrawal index by 39.6 percent in rats and raised the tactile sensitivity threshold ninefold, running slightly behind diazepam at 2mg per kilogram, which cut the same index by 49.3 percent. The same amount over 7 days prevented ethanol-related memory disturbance in rats, and a single dose blocked ethanol-induced hyperlocomotion in mice.

Where the dose-response information actually is: two stress studies varied the amount rather than fixing it. The liver study ran 100, 300 and 1000mcg per kilogram and reported the maximum stress-limiting effect at the middle figure, not the highest. That is the one place in this literature where more was measured against less, and more did not win.

What the human side adds, and what it does not: four reports of clinical benefit on anxiety scales, none of which publishes the amount that produced it. A result without its dose cannot be repeated, checked, or compared against anything, which is why this page treats the animal rows and the human rows as two separate records rather than one continuous one.

300

mcg per kilogram, the amount that recurs most across the animal studies

0

human amounts published across the five human-study abstracts

0

PubMed records and chemical-database entries for n-acetyl selank amidate

7

amino acids in the peptide, per the sequence the structural papers print

125x

the span of the published animal range, from 80mcg per kilogram to 10mg per kilogram

14

days, the only treatment length any of the four human reports states

Figures taken from the abstracts cited in the chart above. The range figure is the ratio of the smallest to the largest amount printed in those abstracts, 80mcg per kilogram against 10mg per kilogram, and the anomalous cat figure is excluded from it for the reason given below. The two zeros are search results, and the queries and dates that produced them are printed beside each claim.

Why is mcg per kilogram not a dose?

Because the kilogram in it belongs to a rat: the animal figures above are expressed per kilogram of animal body weight, and the arithmetic that would turn one into a human quantity is not multiplication by body weight. Species differ in metabolic rate and clearance, the conversion is a recognized calculation with its own assumptions, and none of the sources on this page performs it or supplies a factor for it. So neither does this page.

What the published record contains

Animal amounts, in two clusters: a tight band at 100 to 300mcg per kilogram where most of the work sits, and a wider exploratory range from 0.01 to 10mg per kilogram in one mouse study that varied the amount across four levels.

One dose-response result: 100 against 300 against 1000mcg per kilogram in rat liver under stress, where the middle amount produced the largest effect. That shape, an effect peaking in the middle, is the opposite of what a scaling assumption predicts.

What it does not contain

Any published human amount: not in the four clinical reports, not in the three reviews, not in the analytical paper. The gap is uniform across every English-language source we opened.

Any registered trial: a search of the ClinicalTrials.gov API on 9 August 2026 for selank as an intervention returned two records, and neither is a study of it. The same query for elamipretide returned 21 real ones, which is how we know the search was working.

No figure on this page is offered as yours, and the one number a reader most wants is the one number nobody published.

The unit discrepancy we are not going to quietly fix: the 2005 cat study's abstract prints its amount as 300mg per kilogram by vein. Every other figure in this literature is a thousand times smaller and written in mcg per kilogram. We could not open the full text to establish which unit the authors meant, so the chart carries the figure exactly as printed and this paragraph flags it. The mcg and mg page is about this exact confusion, and this is a published instance of it.

How many units is a milligram of Selank?

The question has no answer until the mix is fixed: a milligram is a mass and a syringe measures a volume, so the number joining them is the concentration, and the concentration was set by whoever chose the water. The table below is division on the first two columns and nothing else.

Reconstitution arithmetic, six mixes, on a U-100 syringe
VialWater addedConcentration1 unit equals1mg reads as
5mg1mL5mg per mL0.05mg (50mcg)20 units
5mg2mL2.5mg per mL0.025mg (25mcg)40 units
10mg1mL10mg per mL0.1mg (100mcg)10 units
10mg2mL5mg per mL0.05mg (50mcg)20 units
10mg3mL3.33mg per mL0.033mg (33.3mcg)30 units
20mg2mL10mg per mL0.1mg (100mcg)10 units
Source: division on the first two columns, and nothing else. The U-100 scale puts a hundredth of a milliliter in every unit regardless of what the vial holds, so that figure is the only constant in the table. No row is a recommended amount, no source tested any of these mixes, and no document cited on this page specifies a Selank vial strength at all, which is why the first column holds round numbers rather than product facts.

What the table cannot do, and it is the important half: it cannot tell anyone which row to be on, because no source on this page names a human amount to look up. The arithmetic is sound and the input is missing. Concentration versus dose works the same division through for any vial, and a unit is a volume, not a dose is the whole of the idea underneath the middle column.

Then the barrel scale moves everything again: every count in the table is a U-100 count. On the U-40 scale that also circulates, an identical unit number holds two and a half times as much liquid, and that factor lands on top of whichever row was already in play rather than replacing it.

What is not known yet about Selank?

The approval position, stated as precisely as we can support it: three reviews describe Selank as registered and marketed as an anxiolytic in Russia and as not approved elsewhere, with one listing it in a table as not yet FDA-approved. We found no United States approval record for it in any source we checked, and this page carries no regulator document for it because we could not retrieve one.

The human evidence is five papers, four of them in one journal in one language: the patient studies ran from 2008 to 2015 in the same Russian title, the fifth is a 2020 imaging study in healthy participants, authorship overlaps between them, and not one prints the amount used. A 2026 orthopaedic review of therapeutic peptides puts it plainly for this whole class, that although preclinical studies are promising, there is a current lack of clinical trials.

Three holes, and none of them is small:

  • No published human amount, anywhere in the English-language literature we searched. Every number on this page belongs to an animal or a cell culture.
  • No registered trial. The compound has no ClinicalTrials.gov record of its own, so there is no protocol, no posted outcome and no participant flow to check anything against.
  • No literature at all on the modified analog. N-acetyl selank amidate has no indexed paper and no structure record under that name, so nothing about the parent compound transfers to it with any warrant.

One gap sits underneath the other three: the toxicity file is thin enough that the most-cited safety data point is a cell-culture study, which reported effects on mouse embryonic stem cells across 0.1 to 100 micromolar. A cell line is not a person, and a compound with no registered trial has no adverse-event database behind it at all.

Every unit figure above assumes the powder matches the number printed on the vial, and for this compound there is no approved presentation anywhere to check that assumption against.

How this page is sourced

Read off the records themselves: every figure in the tables above was taken from the abstract or the full text of the paper cited beside it, retrieved from PubMed, Europe PMC or the publisher on 9 August 2026, never from another site's summary. Where an abstract did not print a value, the cell says so instead of carrying a number from somewhere else.

The searches behind the absence claims, so they can be repeated: a PubMed search for "Selank"[Title/Abstract] returned 68 records on 9 August 2026, and reading the titles is what established that the compound has no human dose-finding study. The same database returned 0 results for the phrase "N-acetyl selank amidate" on the same date. An unanchored search for the bare word returns a larger number that includes lake-nutrient and unrelated clinical papers, which is why the anchored form is the one printed here.

Thirty sources, all of them checkable: twenty-eight peer-reviewed papers, one chemical-structure database record and one trial-registry query, each with its identifier printed so it can be opened directly. Every paper below is cited for a specific figure or statement above, and every figure above traces to one of them.

What we could not settle: the Russian national drug registry was not reachable to us, returning an access-denied response, so no national label is cited and no labeled amount appears on this page. The full text of the 2021 clinical pharmacology review sits behind a publisher block that returned HTTP 403 to us, so that source is used only for statements its abstract carries. The 2005 cat study's unit discrepancy could not be resolved without its full text, and is flagged above rather than corrected. Three human papers and several Russian-language animal papers carry no DOI at all, and are cited by PMID.

Where the standard behind all of that is written down: the test a source has to pass before anything it says reaches a table on this site sits on the methodology page, along with the policy on who checks a page before it ships. Corrections are posted there first.

Last reviewed: 9 August 2026.

  1. 1

    Vyunova TV, Andreeva L, Shevchenko K, Myasoedov N. Peptide-based anxiolytics: the molecular aspects of heptapeptide Selank biological activity. Protein Pept Lett. 2018;25(10):914-923. Cited for the sequence Thr-Lys-Pro-Arg-Pro-Gly-Pro and for the positive allosteric modulation of GABA binding, including the reported block of diazepam and olanzapine modulatory activity. doi:10.2174/0929866525666180925144642. PMID 30255741.

  2. 2

    Deigin VI, Poluektova EA, Beniashvili AG, Kozin SA, Poluektov YM. Development of peptide biopharmaceuticals in Russia. Pharmaceutics. 2022;14(4):716. Cited for the full chemical name L-threonyl-L-lysyl-L-prolyl-L-arginyl-L-prolylglycyl-L-proline, for Selank's listing among Russian-developed peptide drugs as an anxiolytic, and for the review's account of why peptides are capped at their ends: "Proteolytic enzymes in the blood, plasma, liver, or kidney include exopeptidases, aminopeptidases, and carboxypeptidases, which hydrolyze peptide sequences from N- and C-termini. Therefore, N-acylation and C-amidation can potentially increase the resistance of modified peptides to proteolysis." Full text read from the Europe PMC open-access record PMC9030433, HTTP 200. doi:10.3390/pharmaceutics14040716. PMID 35456550.

  3. 3

    Renke G, Chinellato L. Therapeutic peptides in aesthetic, metabolic and endocrine conditions: effects, safety, clinical applications, and future perspectives. Int J Mol Sci. 2026;27(9):3890. Cited for the intranasal nasal-drop formulation, for the statement that Selank is approved in Russia for mild anxiety and unapproved elsewhere, for its table entry listing the compound as not yet FDA-approved, for the reported reduction in anxiety scores after two weeks in mild generalized anxiety disorder, and for the description of it as non-sedative with uncommon mild adverse effects. Full text read from the Europe PMC open-access record PMC13164565, HTTP 200. doi:10.3390/ijms27093890. PMID 42123471.

  4. 4

    Rahman OF, Lee SJ, Seeds WA. Therapeutic peptides in orthopaedics: applications, challenges, and future directions. J Am Acad Orthop Surg Glob Res Rev. 2026;10(1):e25.00236. Cited for the description of Selank as a synthetic heptapeptide based on tuftsin and approved in Russia for the treatment of anxiety, and for the review's own conclusion that although preclinical studies are promising, there is a current lack of clinical trials. Full text read from the Europe PMC open-access record PMC12753158, HTTP 200. doi:10.5435/JAAOSGlobal-D-25-00236. PMID 41490200.

  5. 5

    Doyno CR, White CM. Sedative-hypnotic agents that impact gamma-aminobutyric acid receptors: focus on flunitrazepam, gamma-hydroxybutyric acid, phenibut, and selank. J Clin Pharmacol. 2021;61 Suppl 2:S114-S128. Cited only for statements its abstract carries: that phenibut and selank are poorly studied Russian drugs with GABAergic mechanisms inexplicably sold to US consumers as dietary supplements, and that chronic use of GABAergic drugs of this class can lead to significant withdrawal syndromes. The publisher's full text returned HTTP 403 to us and was never read, which is why nothing beyond the abstract is attributed to it here. doi:10.1002/jcph.1922. PMID 34396551.

  6. 6

    Vanhee C, Francotte A, Janvier S, Deconinck E. The occurrence of putative cognitive enhancing research peptides in seized pharmaceutical preparations: an incentive for controlling agencies to prepare for future encounters of the kind. Drug Test Anal. 2020;12(3):371-381. Cited for the two seized preparations found to contain Selank and Semax, for the finding that these peptides are freely available online as lyophilized powder for injection or in nasal sprays, and for the paper's own statement that they have not completed any clinical trials. doi:10.1002/dta.2717. PMID 31667971.

  7. 7

    Zozulia AA, Neznamov GG, Siuniakov TS, Kost NV, Gabaeva MV, Sokolov OIu, et al. [Efficacy and possible mechanisms of action of a new peptide anxiolytic selank in the therapy of generalized anxiety disorders and neurasthenia]. Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 2008;108(4):38-48. Russian-language paper, English abstract read. Cited for 62 patients studied, 30 on selank against 32 on medazepam, and for the reported similarity of anxiolytic effect with additional antiasthenic and psychostimulant effects. The abstract publishes no amount, which is the fact this page cites it for. No DOI is registered for this record. PMID 18454096.

  8. 8

    Medvedev VE, Tereshchenko ON, Israelian AIu, Chobanu IK, Kost NV, Sokolov OIu. [A comparison of the anxiolytic effect and tolerability of selank and phenazepam in the treatment of anxiety disorders]. Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 2014;114(7):17-22. Russian-language paper, English abstract read. Cited for 60 patients with phobic-anxiety and somatoform disorders, for the reported pronounced anxiolytic and mild nootropic effects, and for the anxiolytic effect lasting a week after the last administration. The abstract publishes no amount. No DOI is registered for this record. PMID 25176261.

  9. 9

    Medvedev VE, Tereshchenko ON, Kost NV, Ter-Israelyan AY, Gushanskaya EV, Chobanu IK. [Optimization of the treatment of anxiety disorders with selank]. Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 2015;115(6):33-40. Russian-language paper, English abstract read. Cited for the 70-patient design, 40 on selank added to phenazepam against 30 on phenazepam alone. The abstract publishes no amount. doi:10.17116/jnevro20151156133-40. PMID 26356395.

  10. 10

    Uchakina ON, Uchakin PN, Miasoedov NF, Andreeva LA, Shcherbenko VE, Mezentseva MV. [Immunomodulatory effects of selank in patients with anxiety-asthenic disorders]. Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova. 2008;108(5):71-5. Russian-language paper, English abstract read. Cited for the 14-day treatment period in patients with generalized anxiety disorder and neurasthenia, and for the in vitro concentration of 10 to the minus 7 molar. The abstract publishes no in vivo amount. No DOI is registered for this record. PMID 18577961.

  11. 11

    Konstantinopolsky MA, Chernyakova IV, Kolik LG. Selank, a peptide analog of tuftsin, attenuates aversive signs of morphine withdrawal in rats. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2022;173(6):730-733. Cited for a single intraperitoneal injection at 0.3 mg/kg reducing the total morphine withdrawal index by 39.6 percent with a ninefold rise in tactile sensitivity threshold, against diazepam at 2 mg/kg reducing it by 49.3 percent. doi:10.1007/s10517-022-05624-x. PMID 36322304.

  12. 12

    Vasil'eva EV, Kondrakhin EA, Salimov RM, Kovalev GI. [Comparison of pharmacological effects of heptapeptide selank after intranasal and intraperitoneal administration to BALB/c and C57BL/6 mice.]. Eksp Klin Farmakol. 2016;79(9):3-11. Russian-language paper, English abstract read. Cited for 300 micrograms per kilogram per day for 5 days by both routes, and for the divergent receptor-binding results, a 38 percent rise in GABA-receptor binding sites in frontal cortex after intraperitoneal administration against a 23 percent rise in a different marker after intranasal administration. No DOI is registered for this record. PMID 29787664.

  13. 13

    Volkova A, Shadrina M, Kolomin T, Andreeva L, Limborska S, Myasoedov N, et al. Selank administration affects the expression of some genes involved in GABAergic neurotransmission. Front Pharmacol. 2016;7:31. Cited for 300 micrograms per kilogram and the analysis of 84 genes in rat frontal cortex at 1 and 3 hours after administration. doi:10.3389/fphar.2016.00031. PMID 26924987.

  14. 14

    Fomenko EV, Bobyntsev II, Ivanov AV, Belykh AE, Kryukov AA, Andreeva LA. Effect of Selank on morphological parameters of rat liver in chronic foot-shock stress. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2019;167(2):293-296. Cited for the three-level design at 100, 300 and 1000 micrograms per kilogram intraperitoneally 15 minutes before each stress session, and for the maximum stress-limiting effect occurring at 300 rather than at the highest level. doi:10.1007/s10517-019-04512-1. PMID 31243679.

  15. 15

    Mukhina AY, Mishina ES, Bobyntsev II, Medvedeva OA, Svishcheva MV, Kalutskii PV, et al. Morphological changes in the large intestine of rats subjected to chronic restraint stress and treated with Selank. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2020;169(2):281-285. Cited for the doses of 80, 250 and 750 micrograms per kilogram given intraperitoneally 15 minutes before stress exposure, which supply the lowest published animal figure on this page. doi:10.1007/s10517-020-04868-9. PMID 32651826.

  16. 16

    Kolomin T, Shadrina M, Andreeva L, Slominsky P, Limborska S, Myasoedov N. Expression of inflammation-related genes in mouse spleen under tuftsin analog Selank. Regul Pept. 2011;170(1-3):18-23. Cited for a single intraperitoneal injection at 100 micrograms per kilogram and the analysis of 84 inflammation-related genes at 6 and 24 hours. doi:10.1016/j.regpep.2011.05.001. PMID 21609736.

  17. 17

    Kolomin T, Morozova M, Volkova A, Shadrina M, Andreeva L, Slominsky P, et al. The temporary dynamics of inflammation-related genes expression under tuftsin analog Selank action. Mol Immunol. 2014;58(1):50-5. Cited for the single intraperitoneal injection at 100 micrograms per kilogram of Selank and of its fragment Gly-Pro in mouse spleen. doi:10.1016/j.molimm.2013.11.002. PMID 24291245.

  18. 18

    Leonidovna YA, Aleksandrovna SM, Aleksandrovna TA, Aleksandrovna BO, Fedorovich MN, Aleksandrovna AL. The Influence of Selank on the Level of Cytokines Under the Conditions of "Social" Stress. Curr Rev Clin Exp Pharmacol. 2021;16(2):162-167. Cited for 100 micrograms per kilogram per day given intraperitoneally to male mice under 20 days of sensory-contact stress, which is the longest repeated animal schedule on this page. Author names are printed exactly as the PubMed record carries them, and that record has the surname and given-name fields transposed: its own forename fields read Yasenyavskaya A, Samotrueva M, Tsibizova A, Bashkina O, Myasoedov N and Andreeva L. doi:10.2174/1574884715666200704152810. PMID 32621722.

  19. 19

    Meshavkin VK, Kost NV, Sokolov OY, Zolotarev YA, Andreeva LA, Myasoedov NF, et al. Naloxone-blocked depriming effect of anxiolytic selank on apomorphine-induced behavioral manifestations of hyperfunction of dopamine system. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2006;142(5):598-600. Cited for the four intraperitoneal levels of 0.01, 0.1, 1.0 and 10.0 mg/kg in mice, which is the widest published range on this page. doi:10.1007/s10517-006-0428-1. PMID 17415472.

  20. 20

    Kolik LG, Nadorova AV, Seredenin SB. Selank inhibits ethanol-induced hyperlocomotion and manifestation of behavioral sensitization in DBA/2 mice. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2016;162(1):56-59. Cited for the single intraperitoneal injection at 0.3 mg/kg preventing ethanol-induced hyperlocomotion. doi:10.1007/s10517-016-3544-6. PMID 27878720.

  21. 21

    Kolik LG, Nadorova AV, Antipova TA, Kruglov SV, Kudrin VS, Durnev AD. Selank, peptide analogue of tuftsin, protects against ethanol-induced memory impairment by regulating of BDNF content in the hippocampus and prefrontal cortex in rats. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2019;167(5):641-644. Cited for 0.3 mg/kg a day intraperitoneally for 7 days in outbred rats and the reported prevention of ethanol-related memory and attention disturbance. doi:10.1007/s10517-019-04588-9. PMID 31625062.

  22. 22

    Kozlovskii II, Andreeva LA, Kozlovskaia MM, Nadorova AV, Kolik LG. [The role of opioid system in peculiarities of anti-anxiety effect of peptide anxiolytic selank]. Eksp Klin Farmakol. 2012;75(2):10-3. Russian-language paper, English abstract read. Cited for the intraperitoneal dose of 0.25 mg/kg in BALB/C and C57BL/6 mice in the open field test. No DOI is registered for this record. PMID 22550852.

  23. 23

    Kozlovskii II, Belozertsev FIu, Andreeva LA, Kozlovskaia MM. [Protective effect of selank on the model of mnestic function violation induced by pharmacological blockade of protein synthesis]. Eksp Klin Farmakol. 2013;76(12):3-7. Russian-language paper, English abstract read. Cited for the intraperitoneal dose of 0.5 mg/kg against actinomycin D at 250 mg/kg, the second figure belonging to the blocking agent rather than to Selank. No DOI is registered for this record. PMID 24605419.

  24. 24

    Kozlovskii II, Danchev ND. The optimizing action of the synthetic peptide Selank on a conditioned active avoidance reflex in rats. Neurosci Behav Physiol. 2003;33(7):639-43. Cited for 300 micrograms per kilogram of Selank compared against piracetam at 400 mg/kg, the second figure belonging to the comparator rather than to Selank. doi:10.1023/a:1024444321191. PMID 14552529.

  25. 25

    Gan'shina TS, Kozlovskii II. [Effects of the new peptide anxiolytic drug selank on the cardiovascular system functioning and respiration in cats]. Eksp Klin Farmakol. 2005;68(4):33-5. Russian-language paper, English abstract read. Cited for the intravenous administration to anesthetized male cats and for the reported 32 percent fall in arterial pressure over the first 1 to 3 minutes and 24 percent rise in cerebral blood flow over the first 5 to 10 minutes. Its abstract prints the amount as 300 mg/kg, which is three orders of magnitude above every other figure in this literature; we could not open the full text to resolve the unit and have flagged it above rather than altering it. No DOI is registered for this record. PMID 16193654.

  26. 26

    Inozemtseva LS, Karpenko EA, Dolotov OV, Levitskaya NG, Kamensky AA, Andreeva LA, et al. Intranasal administration of the peptide Selank regulates BDNF expression in the rat hippocampus in vivo. Dokl Biol Sci. 2008;421:241-3. Cited as one of the two intranasal animal studies in the record, and for the absence of a published amount in its abstract. doi:10.1134/s0012496608040066. PMID 18841804.

  27. 27

    Kobylyanskii AG, Zolotarev YA, Andreeva LA, Grivennikov IA, Myasoedov NF, et al. Studying the toxic effects of some biologically active peptides on the model of mouse embryonic stem cells. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2017;163(6):731-736. Cited for the in vitro concentration range of 0.1 to 100 micromolar in mouse embryonic stem cells, the only toxicity measurement on this page. doi:10.1007/s10517-017-3891-y. PMID 29063333.

  28. 28

    Panikratova YR, Lebedeva IS, Sokolov OY, Rumshiskaya AD, Kupriyanov DA, Kost NV, Myasoedov NF. Functional Connectomic Approach to Studying Selank and Semax Effects. Dokl Biol Sci. 2020;490:9-11. Cited as the only study we found that gave Selank to healthy people and measured an outcome: 52 healthy participants scanned by resting-state fMRI before an injection of Selank, Semax or placebo and again at 5 and 20 minutes afterwards. Its abstract records the injection and no amount, which is why its row in the chart above has an empty amount column. Two of its authors, Sokolov and Kost, also appear on the 2008 patient study at reference 7, so it is not an independent group. doi:10.1134/S001249662001007X. PMID 32342318.

  29. 29

    PubChem compound records, National Center for Biotechnology Information, queried by compound name through the PUG REST interface on 9 August 2026. The name "Selank" resolves to CID 11765600, record title "Selank", molecular formula C33H57N11O9, HTTP 200, which is the same formula the 2026 Int J Mol Sci review prints in its table. The name "N-acetyl semax amidate" resolves to CID 172638603, record title "N-acetyl semax amidate", molecular formula C39H54N10O10S, HTTP 200. The names "N-acetyl selank amidate", "acetyl selank amidate", "N-acetyl-selank-amide" and "Selank amidate" each returned HTTP 404 with the response "No CID found that matches the given name". A name lookup returning nothing is evidence about the database's synonym index, not proof that a molecule cannot exist, and this page says only the former.

  30. 30

    ClinicalTrials.gov, registry search through the v2 API on 9 August 2026, HTTP 200 on every query. A search of the intervention field for Selank returned 2 records, one a study of transcranial magnetic stimulation and one of transcranial direct-current stimulation, neither of which administers this compound; the linked query reproduces both. The same field searched for semax returned 0. The same field searched for elamipretide returned 21 genuine records, which is the control that shows the query itself was working rather than silently failing to match.

The disclaimer

Every page is reviewed by medical professionals before it ships, and written with longtime biohackers who were doing this before it was a trend. Reviewed still does not mean prescribed: nothing here is medical advice.

It is research, trial data, and reported use, with the numbers intact so you can check them. For decisions about your body, see a doctor who can look at your labs.

The weekly briefing

Get the next dosage guide.

New compound guides, new calculators, and the math behind the next panic post. One clear email a week.

Education only, never medical advice. Unsubscribe anytime.