Compound reference
Kisspeptin-10: What the Trials Infused, and Over How Long
Short answer
A ten amino acid fragment, not a whole hormone: kisspeptin-10 is the tail end of a larger peptide, written YNWNSFGLRF-NH2 and catalogued as kisspeptin 112-121 and metastin 45-54 (Liu, J Chromatogr B, 2013).
Thirty eight published arms, and exactly one is a subcutaneous injection: fifteen are infusions and twenty one are intravenous boluses given through a cannula, and every infusion figure is published per hour or per minute.
Two unit systems, and papers rarely print both: some report micrograms per kilogram, others nanomoles per kilogram. At a molar mass of 1302.4, 1 nmol/kg is 1.3mcg/kg.
The reason it is infused sits in one measurement: plasma half-life came out at 3.8 to 4.1 minutes in healthy volunteers.
How long anyone has run it: 90 minutes to 22.5 hours for fifteen years, then 12 days in 2026, by giving it eight hours a day rather than continuously.
The converter
What it wants, and what it hands back: an amount, the unit it was published in, a body weight and a number of hours go in. The same amount in the other unit system comes out, along with what it totals over the hours entered.
Molar and mass converter
Converts the numbers you type. It does not recommend a dose.
Arithmetic only. It divides or multiplies by a molar mass of 1302.4 grams per mole, taken from the PubChem record, and by the weight and hours typed above. It has no knowledge of any study, any infusion pump, or any person.
The Decadewise briefing
One compound, one paper, or one piece of math like this, every week. Free.
Education only. Unsubscribe anytime.
On this page
Kisspeptin-10 dosage chart: what each human study administered, and by which route
One row per study arm, route printed beside it: thirty eight arms, each with the route, the population and how long it ran. There is no beginner row and no maintenance row, because the record contains neither. These are the arms whose endpoint was gonadotropins, the LH, FSH and testosterone readouts this page is about; two further kisspeptin-10 administration studies are left off the chart because their endpoint was oxytocin or vasopressin rather than gonadotropins, and both are real administration studies listed in our sources.
Read the route column before the amount column: a figure ending in "per hour" is a pump setting, and it only becomes a total once somebody names a duration. Twenty one of the twenty three bolus rows went into a vein through a cannula, which is not a thing that happens outside a clinical research unit.
One peptide, several spellings, and this is not a trivia point: kisspeptin-10, kisspeptin 10, KP-10, kisspeptin 112-121 and metastin 45-54 all name the same decapeptide. Twelve of the rows above come from one research group that writes 112-121 in its titles and abstracts, so a search on the short name alone cannot reach them. Our own first pass returned twenty two of these thirty eight arms for exactly that reason.
| Source | Amount given | Route | Who received it | How long |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| George 2011, JCEM | 0.01 to 3.0mcg/kg, largest LH rise at 1mcg/kg | Intravenous bolus | Healthy men, 6 at the peak amount | Single injection |
| George 2011, JCEM | 1.5mcg/kg per hour | Intravenous infusion | Healthy men, 4 | Continuous, with pulse sampling |
| George 2011, JCEM | 4mcg/kg per hour | Intravenous infusion | Healthy men, 4 | 22.5 hours |
| Jayasena 2011, JCEM | 0.3, 1.0, 3.0 and 10 nmol/kg (0.39 to 13.0mcg/kg) | Intravenous bolus | Healthy men, 4 to 5 per amount | Single injection |
| Jayasena 2011, JCEM | 1.0, 3.0 and 10 nmol/kg | Intravenous bolus | Women, follicular phase | Single injection |
| Jayasena 2011, JCEM | 10 nmol/kg | Intravenous bolus | Women, preovulatory phase, 5 | Single injection |
| Jayasena 2011, JCEM | 2, 4, 8, 16 and 32 nmol/kg (2.6 to 41.7mcg/kg) | Subcutaneous bolus | Women, follicular phase, 4 to 5 per amount | Single injection |
| Jayasena 2011, JCEM | 20 to 720 pmol/kg per minute (1.2 to 43.2 nmol/kg per hour) | Intravenous infusion | Women, follicular phase | 90 minutes, rate halved after the first 30 |
| Jayasena 2015, Hum Reprod | 0.1, 0.3 and 1.0 nmol/kg per hour | Intravenous infusion | Healthy men, 5 per amount | 3 hours |
| George 2012, Hum Reprod | 0.3mcg/kg | Intravenous bolus | Women: 10 follicular, 6 postmenopausal, 8 on contraception | Single injection |
| George 2013, Clin Endocrinol | 0.3mcg/kg | Intravenous bolus | 5 men with type 2 diabetes, 7 healthy men | Single injection |
| George 2013, Clin Endocrinol | 4mcg/kg per hour | Intravenous infusion | Men with type 2 diabetes, 4 | 11 hours |
| Skorupskaite 2016, JCEM | 4mcg/kg per hour | Intravenous infusion | Healthy women, 10 treated and 10 controls | 7 hours |
| Skorupskaite 2017, Clin Endocrinol | 0.3mcg/kg | Intravenous bolus | Healthy men, 6 | Single injection, repeated on day 7 |
| Skorupskaite 2018, Neuroendocrinology | 0.3mcg/kg | Intravenous bolus | Postmenopausal women, 11 | Single injection, repeated on day 7 |
| Skorupskaite 2020, Hum Reprod | 4mcg/kg per hour | Intravenous infusion | Women with polycystic ovary syndrome, 8 treated and 7 untreated | 7 hours |
| George 2017, Clin Endocrinol | 0.3mcg/kg | Intravenous bolus | Healthy men, 4 | Single injection during a 3 hour co-infusion |
| Ullah 2019, Andrologia | 1mcg/kg | Intravenous bolus | Healthy men, three age bands | Single injection |
| Yeung 2026, Eur J Endocrinol | 1.25 to 10.0 nmol/kg per hour (1.63 to 13.0mcg/kg per hour) | Subcutaneous infusion | Healthy men, 7 | 8 hours, dose response |
| Yeung 2026, Eur J Endocrinol | 180 nmol per hour, not per kilogram (234mcg per hour) | Subcutaneous infusion | Healthy men, 4 | Continuous for 5 days |
| Yeung 2026, Eur J Endocrinol | 150 nmol per hour, not per kilogram (195mcg per hour) | Subcutaneous infusion | Healthy men, 7 | 8 hours a day for 12 days |
| Yeung 2026, Eur J Endocrinol | 1 nmol/kg (1.3mcg/kg) | Bolus, after the 12 day arm | Healthy men | Single, as a receptor check |
| Chan 2011, JCEM | 0.24 nmol/kg (0.313mcg/kg) | Intravenous bolus | Healthy men, 13 | Single, at hour 6 of a 12 hour sampling study |
| Chan 2012, JCEM | 0.24 nmol/kg, and 0.72 nmol/kg in four more | Intravenous bolus | Women, 27 across three cycle phases, plus 4 | Single injection |
| Young 2013, Neuroendocrinology | 1.5mcg/kg per hour | Intravenous infusion | 4 patients with neurokinin B or NK3 receptor mutations | 12 hours, against a vehicle day |
| Chan 2014, JCEM | 0.24 nmol/kg, with four subjects escalated to 0.72 and 2.4 | Intravenous bolus | 12 people with idiopathic hypogonadotropic hypogonadism | Single or repeated within one admission |
| Lippincott 2016, JCEM | 0.24 to 2.4 nmol/kg | Intravenous bolus | 6 men whose hypogonadotropic hypogonadism had reversed | Single or repeated within one admission |
| Lippincott 2017, JCEM | 12.5mcg/kg per hour, plus 0.313mcg/kg boluses in a subset | Intravenous infusion | Postmenopausal women, 8 | 24 hours |
| Millar 2017, J Endocr Soc | 1.5mcg/kg per hour | Intravenous infusion | 2 women with hyperprolactinemic amenorrhea | 12 hours, against a vehicle day |
| Chan 2018, JCI Insight | 0.313mcg/kg | Intravenous bolus | 15 children with delayed puberty, and 5 healthy men | Single injection on each of two admissions |
| Nabi 2018, Int J Endocrinol | 9.5 to 20.5mcg scaled by Tanner stage, 1mcg/kg in the adults | Intravenous bolus | 30 boys across five Tanner stages, 5 adult men | Single injection |
| Hoskova 2022, JCEM | 0.24 nmol/kg, ten times over | Intravenous bolus, once an hour | 11 women with hyperprolactinemia | 10 hours of dosing inside a 12 hour visit |
| Naveed 2026, Hormones | 12.5mcg/kg per hour, stated in the paper as 9.6 nmol/kg per hour | Intravenous infusion | Healthy men, 3 | 24 hours |
| Lippincott 2018, J Endocr Soc | 0.24 nmol/kg | Intravenous bolus | 7 people with idiopathic hypogonadotropic hypogonadism | At least one bolus on each of two visits |
| Lippincott 2019, JCEM | 0.24, 0.72 and 2.4 nmol/kg | Intravenous bolus | Members of a family carrying neurokinin B mutations | Single boluses |
| Lippincott 2019, JCEM | 9.5 nmol/kg per hour | Intravenous infusion | One subject from that family | 12 hours |
| Chan 2020, JCEM | 0.313mcg/kg | Intravenous bolus | 16 children with delayed or stalled puberty | Single injection on each of two admissions |
| Shamas 2019, Acta Endocrinol | 0.5mcg/kg of body weight | Intravenous bolus | 8 normal weight and 8 obese men | Single injection |
What the table does not contain, and the absence is the finding: a single row where a person gave themselves kisspeptin-10 outside a research unit. Every arm above was administered by staff, through a cannula or a pump, with blood drawn on a sampling schedule that is the actual point of the experiment.
The conversion this page does do: nanomoles into micrograms, and rates into totals. That one is division, it is shown in full further down, and it holds whatever the amount is and whoever published it.
How many micrograms is 1 nmol of kisspeptin-10?
The number that reconciles the two literatures: the PubChem record for kisspeptin-10 gives a molecular formula of C63H83N17O14 and a molar mass of 1302.4 grams per mole. One nanomole therefore weighs 1302.4 nanograms, which is 1.3024 micrograms.
Run backwards, one microgram is 0.768 nmol. Those two constants are the whole conversion, and everything in the table below is one multiplication away from them.
The constant checks out against a paper that ran the same arithmetic: the 2026 continuous infusion study prints its own rate both ways, 12.5mcg/kg per hour and 9.6 nmol/kg per hour. Those two figures imply a molar mass of about 1302, so their conversion and ours agree to three digits.
Why this matters more here than on most compounds: one group publishes in micrograms per kilogram, another in nanomoles per kilogram, and a third prints both for the same injection, so arms of the same literature can look unrelated while sitting on top of each other. A 0.3mcg/kg bolus and a 0.3 nmol/kg bolus are not the same amount, and they differ by about a third: 0.3 nmol/kg is 0.39mcg/kg.
| As published | The other unit | Where it appears |
|---|---|---|
| 0.3 nmol/kg | 0.39mcg/kg | Lowest bolus that moved LH in men, 2011 |
| 1.0 nmol/kg | 1.30mcg/kg | Bolus in men 2011, receptor check 2026 |
| 10 nmol/kg | 13.02mcg/kg | Top intravenous bolus, both sexes |
| 32 nmol/kg | 41.68mcg/kg | Top subcutaneous bolus, follicular phase women |
| 0.3mcg/kg | 0.230 nmol/kg | The Edinburgh standard bolus, five papers |
| 1.0mcg/kg | 0.768 nmol/kg | Peak bolus response 2011, age study 2019 |
| 3.0mcg/kg | 2.303 nmol/kg | The bolus that produced a smaller rise than 1mcg/kg |
| 1.0 nmol/kg per hour | 1.30mcg/kg per hour | Top rate in the 2015 comparison |
| 4mcg/kg per hour | 3.07 nmol/kg per hour | The Edinburgh infusion rate, four papers |
| 720 pmol/kg per minute | 43.2 nmol/kg per hour, or 56.3mcg/kg per hour | Top infusion rate in follicular phase women |
| 10.0 nmol/kg per hour | 13.02mcg/kg per hour | Top subcutaneous rate, 2026 |
| 150 nmol per hour | 195.4mcg per hour | The 12 day arm, 2026, not weight adjusted |
One arithmetic trap worth naming, since it is the one that bites: pmol/kg/min and nmol/kg/h are both rates and they differ by a factor of 60 for the time and 1000 for the prefix. The 720 pmol/kg/min in the 2011 women's infusion is 43.2 nmol/kg/h, which is more than forty times the top rate the 2015 men's comparison used, and it still moved nothing. Why a figure changes meaning when the unit underneath it changes is the subject of the micrograms and milligrams page.
What a rate is not: a rate is not an amount until it is multiplied by a duration, and none of the rates above carries its own. The 12 day arm at 150 nmol per hour for eight hours a day works out to 1200 nmol a day, or about 1.56mg, and 18.75mg across the whole twelve days. The five day continuous arm, at 180 nmol per hour without a break, comes to about 28.13mg.
Is kisspeptin-10 injected or infused?
Counted off the chart above, the record splits four ways: intravenous bolus in twenty one arms, intravenous infusion in twelve, subcutaneous infusion in three and subcutaneous bolus in one, with one further bolus whose route the 2026 abstract does not name. The three subcutaneous infusion arms are all from that same 2026 study.
The route people are actually asking about is the thinnest part of the record: subcutaneous injection as a bolus appears once, in the 2011 sexual dimorphism study, in follicular phase women, at 2, 4, 8, 16 and 32 nmol/kg. The paper reports that no alteration in serum gonadotropins was observed at any of them.
So the one direct test of the route the internet describes returned a null result, in the one population it was run in. That is a narrow finding and we are not stretching it: it says nothing about men, in whom subcutaneous bolus kisspeptin-10 has not been published at all.
What 2026 changed, and what it did not: it put kisspeptin-10 under the skin and kept it there, which is new. It did that with an infusion running for eight hours at a stretch, which is not the same act as an injection, and the paper's own title calls it infusion.
The preparation the trials used is not the preparation described online either: the 2011 methods dissolved kisspeptin-10 in saline containing gelofusine at five percent by volume, a plasma expander that keeps peptide from sticking to plastic. That is a hospital pharmacy step, and it changes how much of a stated amount actually reaches the vein.
Which is why route sits above amount in the reading order of this page. What trial documents record about route and injection site, across compounds, is worked through separately on the injection sites page, and the general question of how administration route is reported is on the administration page.
Why did the trials infuse it instead of injecting it?
Because of a number that took a dedicated sub-study to produce: the fifth study inside the 2011 sexual dimorphism paper existed only to measure how fast kisspeptin-10 disappears. Sampling ran at one minute intervals immediately after an infusion was stopped.
What it found: plasma half-lives of 3.8 plus or minus 0.3 minutes in men, 4.1 plus or minus 0.4 minutes in follicular phase women and 4.1 plus or minus 0.4 minutes in preovulatory phase women. The regression slopes for the three groups were not significantly different from one another.
Four minutes is the whole explanation for the shape of this literature. A bolus of something that clears that fast produces a spike and then nothing, so a study that wants to hold a receptor occupied for hours has to keep feeding it, and a study that wants to hold one occupied for days has to keep feeding it for days.
The figure is not unique to humans: a 2017 mouse study put kisspeptin-10 at roughly 4 minutes in the bloodstream against roughly 32 minutes for kisspeptin-54, and a 2013 rat study found kisspeptin-10 undetectable 30 minutes after an intravenous bolus of 1.0mg/kg. Three species, one answer.
One number that is often quoted alongside those and measures something else entirely: the same 2013 paper reports decomposition half-lives of 6.8, 2.9 and 1.7 minutes at 4, 25 and 37 degrees Celsius. Those describe the peptide falling apart in a tube, not clearing from a body, and the principal breakdown product is kisspeptin-10 with its first tyrosine removed.
A regulator checked the same number and reached the same place: FDA's 2024 review of kisspeptin-10 restates the half-lives as approximately 4 minutes, giving 3.8 plus or minus 0.3 minutes in men and 4.1 plus or minus 0.4 minutes in follicular and preovulatory phase women, and attributes them to that 2011 study.
What the same review says is missing, and it is the route this page keeps returning to: at the time of that evaluation FDA had not identified any study of the pharmacokinetic profile of kisspeptin-10 given subcutaneously or intramuscularly. The four minute figure belongs to an intravenous infusion, and nothing has measured what the curve looks like under the skin.
The other half of that sentence has to travel with it: FDA also records that kisspeptin-10 is pharmacologically active when given subcutaneously to rats and intramuscularly to cattle, which it reads as showing the peptide is absorbed by either route. Absorbed is not the same claim as characterized, and the agency is careful to separate them.
The comparison that puts the rat figure in perspective: that rat bolus of 1.0mg/kg is 1000mcg/kg, and the largest intravenous bolus any human trial has used is 10 nmol/kg, or about 13mcg/kg. The animal amount is roughly 77 times the human one, so an animal figure carried across without a conversion step is not a conservative estimate.
How long has kisspeptin-10 been given to a person for?
For fifteen years the answer was hours: 90 minutes in the 2011 women's infusion, 3 hours in the 2015 isoform comparison, 7 hours in the two neurokinin studies, 11 hours in the diabetes study, 12 hours in three infusion studies of patients rather than volunteers, 22.5 hours in the 2011 men's infusion and 24 hours in two separate continuous infusions. Days did not arrive until 2026.
What 22 hours established, and it matters for what came next: a 2022 review by two of the authors involved records an absence of desensitization in humans exposed to continuous kisspeptin-10 at receptor saturating concentrations over 22 hours. Nothing had gone quiet by the end of a day.
What twenty four hours established, and it is the bridge between the other two: a 2026 study infused kisspeptin-10 intravenously at 12.5mcg/kg per hour for 24 hours in three healthy men. LH climbed from a baseline of 2.8 to 3.8 to a peak of 17.5 to 30.6 milli-international units per milliliter, reached between 12 and 20 hours in, then fell by 13 to 47 percent from that peak before the infusion ended.
So the fade begins inside the first day, not after it: the same 24 hour duration had already been run in 2017, at the same rate, in eight postmenopausal women. What the 2026 paper adds is the shape of the curve inside the day rather than a longer day.
What five days established: the 2026 study ran a continuous subcutaneous infusion at 180 nmol per hour for five days. Testosterone stayed elevated, and gonadotropin concentrations came back similar to vehicle, which is the shape of a system that has stopped responding to a signal that never stops arriving.
What twelve days established, by changing one thing: the same study then gave eight hours on and sixteen hours off, at 150 nmol per hour, for twelve days. Gonadotropin rises were sustained: mean LH increase of 1.68 plus or minus 0.25 on day 1 and 1.14 plus or minus 0.33 on day 12, against minus 0.16 plus or minus 0.19 for vehicle, at P equals .003.
Then they checked the receptor was still there: after the twelve days, a 1 nmol/kg bolus still produced a gonadotropin rise, which the authors read as the kisspeptin receptor remaining functional. That is the test that separates a fading signal from a broken one.
The idea was not new in 2026, and FDA's review says where it came from: the same document records that tachyphylaxis to continuous kisspeptin-10 can be avoided by intermittent administration of lower amounts, citing juvenile male rhesus monkeys given an intermittent intravenous infusion of 2 micrograms as a one minute pulse every hour for 48 hours, which kept triggering gonadotropin surges of consistent size for the whole 48 hours.
Twenty years apart, two species, one shape: pulse it and it keeps working, run it continuously and it stops. The 2026 human study is the first time that pattern was carried past two days in a person.
The single most useful sentence anyone can take from that arm: what changed between the five day failure and the twelve day success was not the amount, it was the gap. One arm ran 180 nmol per hour without a break and lost the effect, the other ran 150 nmol per hour with sixteen hours off a day and kept it.
What no PUBLISHED study has done: gone past twelve days. Every duration above belongs to a paper, and the longest paper ran under two weeks.
Two completed trials did go further, and only one has reported: a registry record for subcutaneous kisspeptin 112-121 given by pump, pulsatile at roughly every 90 minutes, for two weeks, completed on 31 August 2025 with thirteen participants, has posted no results; and a hyperprolactinemia study whose registry record carries a subcutaneous arm and an amount range of 0.313 to 2mcg/kg, completed in July 2023 with thirty six participants, has posted registry results. Both are listed in our sources with their identifiers.
Which is why the sentence on this page is scoped the way it is. The longest published exposure is twelve days. The longest completed exposure is longer than that and has not been written up, so nobody outside those studies knows what it showed.
Do women respond to kisspeptin-10 the same way men do?
No, and the gap is not subtle: in healthy men, serum LH and FSH rose after intravenous bolus kisspeptin-10 at amounts as low as 0.3 and 1.0 nmol/kg. In women in the follicular phase, nothing moved at intravenous 10 nmol/kg, subcutaneous 32 nmol/kg, or an infusion running at 720 pmol/kg per minute.
Same molecule, same laboratory, and a spread of more than a hundredfold in the amount that did nothing. The paper's own conclusion is that the response is sexually dimorphic, and that this has implications for whether kisspeptin-10 could treat reproductive disorders.
Where in the cycle it was given changed the answer: the same 10 nmol/kg intravenous bolus that did nothing in the follicular phase did raise LH and FSH in women in the preovulatory phase. The window mattered more than the amount.
The sex steroid background changed it too: a 2012 study gave 0.3mcg/kg intravenously to three groups of women and got an LH area under the curve of 2.3 plus or minus 0.8 in the follicular phase, 5.3 plus or minus 0.9 after menopause, 2.6 plus or minus 0.8 on progestogen implants, and 0.9 plus or minus 0.4 on the combined pill, which did not reach significance.
And then a result that does not sit comfortably with that one: a 2018 study gave the same 0.3mcg/kg intravenous bolus to eleven postmenopausal women and reports that kisspeptin-10 did not affect LH secretion, with or without a neurokinin 3 receptor antagonist. Same amount, same route, same broad population, opposite readout.
We are not resolving that here, and no page should pretend to. The two results sit in the published record as they are, six years apart, from overlapping author groups, and anyone quoting a female response to kisspeptin-10 is quoting one of them and not the other. Which chart you meet first decides what you believe, a problem we took apart in general on the page about charts that disagree.
Community reports, not a protocol
What do the protocol pages say to run?
Why this section is separated from everything above it: the figures here come from the pages that rank for kisspeptin dosage queries, and we could not tie any of them to a published human study. We are reporting that they circulate, not that they were tested.
What follows, and where it comes from: it was read off the pages that rank for this query, and it is recorded as circulation, not as anything that was tested.
The figures we kept meeting: 100 to 200mcg subcutaneously, one to three times a week, sometimes stated as a flat 100 to 500mcg per injection, and sometimes weight adjusted at 6 to 10mcg/kg. The product form these are written around is a 10mg vial.
Where they sit against the published record, arithmetically: 6 to 10mcg/kg is 4.6 to 7.7 nmol/kg, which lands inside the 2 to 32 nmol/kg subcutaneous ladder from 2011, the one that moved nothing in the population it was tested in. The flat 100 to 500mcg figures work out lower again per kilogram at any adult weight.
The schedule claim we saw most often, and what the record says about it: several pages assert that daily injection causes receptor downregulation and that spacing doses out is therefore necessary. No source is given on those pages for the claim.
That idea is not baseless, and it is also not what was tested: the 2026 study did lose the gonadotropin response over five days of uninterrupted infusion, and did keep it over twelve days when the infusion stopped for sixteen hours out of every twenty four. Neither arm was a daily injection, so neither arm tested the claim as the protocol pages state it.
No control group behind any of it: no comparison arm, no published human dose finding study of subcutaneous bolus kisspeptin-10 in either sex, and no outcome measured other than what the people posting say happened.
Peer-reviewed research and trial records
What has the human research actually measured?
What it is and what it acts on: kisspeptin-10 stimulates the release of gonadotropin releasing hormone from the hypothalamus, which then stimulates gonadotropin release from the pituitary. That indirect path is why the readouts in every study on this page are LH, FSH and testosterone rather than anything measured at the injection site.
The first human dose response, 2011: intravenous bolus kisspeptin-10 produced a rapid rise in serum LH, from 4.1 plus or minus 0.4 to 12.4 plus or minus 1.7 international units per liter at 30 minutes in six men at 1mcg/kg.
The detail from that paper most worth carrying: 3mcg/kg produced a smaller response than 1mcg/kg. More was not more, and it was measured in the same experiment.
What an infusion did in the same paper: 4mcg/kg per hour over 22.5 hours took mean LH from 5.4 plus or minus 0.7 to 20.8 plus or minus 4.9, and testosterone from 16.6 plus or minus 2.4 to 24.0 plus or minus 2.5 nanomoles per liter, in four men.
How it compares with the drug clinicians already use: the 2015 head to head infused kisspeptin-10, kisspeptin-54 and GnRH into healthy men at the same three rates for three hours each. At 1.0 nmol/kg per hour the LH area under the curve was 10.81 plus or minus 1.73 for kisspeptin-10, 14.43 plus or minus 1.27 for kisspeptin-54 and 34.06 plus or minus 5.18 for GnRH.
Which is a finding people skip past: GnRH, the older and licensed molecule, was roughly three times more potent than kisspeptin-10 at the amounts tested. The case for kisspeptin has never been that it is stronger.
Where it has been tried in disease rather than in health: five men with type 2 diabetes and low testosterone received an 11 hour infusion at 4mcg/kg per hour, which took LH from 3.9 plus or minus 0.1 to 20.7 plus or minus 1.1 and testosterone from 8.5 plus or minus 1.0 to 11.4 plus or minus 0.9 nanomoles per liter. The authors describe it as a proof of concept study.
And the 2026 study that this page is built around: fifteen healthy men across three arms, with twelve more as controls, establishing an acute subcutaneous dose response, a five day continuous arm and a twelve day intermittent arm. Its stated purpose is to inform the development of chronic administration protocols, which is a statement about future medicine rather than about present practice.
3.8 to 4.1
minutes, the measured plasma half-life in healthy volunteers, which is why the record is infusions
12
days, the longest PUBLISHED exposure, from 2026; a completed two week trial ran longer and has not reported
1302.4
grams per mole, the constant that converts every nmol figure on this page into micrograms
1
published study of subcutaneous bolus kisspeptin-10 in humans, in one sex, in one phase of the cycle
0
records returned by a Drugs@FDA search for kisspeptin, run 9 August 2026
3x
the LH response to GnRH against kisspeptin-10 at the same infusion rate, measured head to head
Jayasena et al., J Clin Endocrinol Metab 2011 (PMID 21976724), full text read 9 August 2026 for the half-life sub-study; Yeung et al., Eur J Endocrinol 2026 (PMID 42549827); PubChem CID 25240297; Jayasena et al., Hum Reprod 2015 (PMID 26089302) for the head to head area under the curve figures. Approval status established from regulator sources listed at the bottom of this page.
Is kisspeptin-10 the same thing as kisspeptin-54?
No, and mixing them up moves a figure by a factor that matters: both are cut from the same precursor and share the same ten amino acid tail, which is why they hit the same receptor. Kisspeptin-54 is the longer fragment, and it is the one most of the older human work used.
The difference that shows up in the blood: the human plasma half-life of kisspeptin-54 was calculated at 27.6 plus or minus 1.1 minutes in 2005, against the 3.8 to 4.1 minutes measured for kisspeptin-10 in 2011. The 2011 authors put it as roughly sevenfold.
What the difference is not fully explained by: a 2017 mouse study repeated kisspeptin-10 injections every ten minutes for an hour, to compensate for the shorter half-life, and still failed to reproduce the sustained LH rise a single kisspeptin-54 injection produced. It also found that only kisspeptin-54 activated c-FOS in GnRH neurons behind the blood brain barrier.
Why that finding is worth a reader's attention: it suggests the two fragments may not even reach the same place, which is a different claim from one clearing faster than the other. That study carries a published correction from 2018, and the correction is listed with it in our sources.
The difference that matters most for anyone reading a protocol page: kisspeptin-54 has been given as a repeated subcutaneous injection over weeks and kisspeptin-10 never has. Women with hypothalamic amenorrhea received twice daily subcutaneous kisspeptin-54 at 6.4 nmol/kg for two weeks in 2009, and twice weekly injections for eight weeks in 2010.
And the result of those two schedules is the most useful thing on this page: the 2010 paper reports that twice weekly administration produced only partial desensitization, in contrast to the complete tolerance achieved with twice daily administration. Same molecule, same route, same clinic, and the gap between injections decided whether it kept working.
And there is a phase 1 that ran almost exactly the schedule the protocol pages describe, on the closest molecule anyone has built: TAK-448 is an investigational analog of the fully active ten amino acid C terminus of kisspeptin-54, which is the same decapeptide this page is about. Healthy men aged 50 and over received it subcutaneously for 14 days at 0.01 to 1mg a day.
The result went the opposite way to everything a protocol page promises: the paper's own title states that sustained exposure to TAK-448 down-regulates testosterone into the castration range, in healthy males and in patients with prostate cancer. It was being developed as an androgen deprivation therapy.
Read that next to the twelve day kisspeptin-10 result and the shape of the whole field appears: the same receptor, pushed continuously, shuts the axis down, and pushed intermittently, holds it open. TAK-448 is a different molecule with a different half-life, so this is not a prediction about kisspeptin-10. It is the reason nobody should assume the direction of the effect from the amount alone.
The practical consequence for anything you read online: a dosage figure attached to the word kisspeptin, with no number after it, is ambiguous between two molecules whose human amounts and durations differ. The 2015 head to head is the only study that gave both to the same population at the same rates on separate days.
Where do the kisspeptin dosage figures online come from?
The usual answer on compounds like this is that a rodent number got its species label removed. That is not what happened here, and the real answer is more specific.
What the published record contains
The amounts: intravenous boluses between 0.01 and 13mcg/kg, infusion rates between 0.13 and 56mcg/kg per hour, and one subcutaneous bolus ladder topping out at 41.7mcg/kg.
The durations: single injections, then 90 minutes, then 3, 7, 10, 11, 12, 22.5 and 24 hours, then 5 and 12 days by infusion in one 2026 study.
What the protocol pages describe
The amounts: 100 to 500mcg per subcutaneous injection, or 6 to 10mcg/kg, which is inside the published range rather than wildly outside it.
The schedule: a few times a week, indefinitely, which is the part with nothing behind it. No study has given kisspeptin-10 as an intermittent subcutaneous injection on any schedule at all.
The gap is not in the milligrams. It is in the route and the schedule, and those are the two things a dosage chart cannot show you.
Stated mechanically, so it can be checked: an amount from a study that infused it for eight hours is reprinted as an amount to inject in a second. The digits survive the trip, the route does not, and a peptide with a four minute half-life is exactly the case where that substitution changes what happens.
The second move, and it is quieter: figures from kisspeptin-54 studies get filed under kisspeptin, which then reads as kisspeptin-10 on a page about a 10mg vial. That is how a number attached to a molecule with a 27 minute half-life ends up next to one with a four minute half-life.
Which finally explains the schedule advice, and the explanation is a real citation rather than a guess: a subcutaneous injection, repeated a couple of times a week, for weeks, is a protocol that genuinely exists in the literature and genuinely showed less desensitization than daily dosing. It was run with kisspeptin-54, in women with hypothalamic amenorrhea, in 2009 and 2010.
The advice traveled to the shorter peptide and the evidence did not. Nothing has tested twice weekly subcutaneous kisspeptin-10, in anyone, and the one thing separating the two molecules in vivo is precisely how fast they leave the blood.
What we could not establish, stated plainly: we found no published source for the 100 to 500mcg per injection figures, and no source at all for the every other day spacing. We are recording that they circulate. Our standard for what counts as a source sits on the methodology page.
What is not known yet?
Still investigational: there is no approved kisspeptin-10 product for any indication in any of the regulators we checked, as of August 2026. Everything on this page is trial data.
Four holes, and the first one is the whole subject of most search queries:
- No published subcutaneous bolus study in men, at any amount. The single subcutaneous bolus study was in women, in one phase of the cycle, and reported no gonadotropin response.
- No schedule study. Nothing compares once a week against three times a week against daily, because nothing has given it as intermittent injections at all.
- No published data past twelve days. The longest completed exposure, a two week pulsatile pump record, has not reported, so the longest exposure anyone has actually run is not the longest anyone can read.
- No outcome beyond hormones. Every charted endpoint is LH, FSH or testosterone in blood, and the two off-chart administration studies measured oxytocin and vasopressin. Fertility, symptoms and body composition are not in the human kisspeptin-10 record.
Anything that fills those four gaps with a number has filled them in itself.
One more that applies before all four: every figure above assumes the vial contains what the label says. On a compound with no approved product, identity, purity and strength rest entirely on that label, and what a certificate of analysis can and cannot settle is its own question.
FDA has already reviewed this compound in writing, and the document is public: kisspeptin-10 went before the Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee on 29 October 2024, evaluated for the treatment of secondary hypogonadism in men, after a nomination proposing 1mg per mL solutions for injection by the subcutaneous and intramuscular routes.
What the agency wrote about the approval question: its briefing document states that there is no applicable United States Pharmacopeia or National Formulary monograph for kisspeptin-10, and that kisspeptin-10 is not a component of an FDA-approved drug. A Drugs@FDA search through the openFDA interface returned the same answer on 9 August 2026, HTTP 404 carrying the message that no matches were found.
What the agency wrote about the route, which matches the chart at the top of this page line for line: that kisspeptin-10 has been administered as a single subcutaneous bolus of up to 42 micrograms per kilogram in one study evaluating healthy adult women, and as a continuous intravenous infusion at rates of up to 12.5 micrograms per kilogram per hour for 24 hours in postmenopausal women. A regulator counted the subcutaneous record independently and arrived at one study.
And the sentence that speaks directly to every protocol page: "No published clinical trials were found that assessed the safety of kisspeptin-10 when administered chronically or on a fixed schedule for over one day." The same document records the longest bolus schedule it found as every hour for 11 hours on a single day.
One date has to travel with all of that: the review was written in October 2024, so it predates the 2026 study that reached twelve days. The agency's "for over one day" was accurate when it was written, and the published record has moved since without the review being redone.
Where it sits in anti-doping, from a peer reviewed source rather than from the list itself: a 2026 analytical chemistry paper states that testosterone-stimulating peptides are prohibited for male athletes by the World Anti-Doping Agency, that kisspeptin and its isoforms including KP-10 are among them, and that they were included in the Prohibited List in 2024. We cite the paper because the agency's own list would not serve us a copy.
Where kisspeptin does turn up in approved US labeling, which is not where anyone expects: the same interface searching drug labels returned exactly two products, VEOZAH and LYNKUET, and in both the word appears in the mechanism of action describing the kisspeptin, neurokinin B and dynorphin neuron the drug acts on. Neither contains kisspeptin.
Which is a quiet result worth sitting with: the two approved drugs that name this pathway are both neurokinin 3 receptor blockers, and the same class of blocker appears four times in the chart at the top of this page as the tool used to interrogate kisspeptin. The neighboring pathway reached the market. This peptide has not.
What would close the biggest gap, described precisely: a subcutaneous bolus dose response in men, with gonadotropins sampled often enough to see a four minute half-life work through the system. Until that exists, the amount for the route people actually ask about has never been measured.
How this page is sourced
Read off the papers themselves: every figure on this page was taken from the cited record, retrieved on 9 August 2026, and never from another page's summary of it.
Forty two sources, thirty eight of them peer reviewed: thirty three human administration papers, three animal papers, one review, one anti-doping analytical paper, one chemistry database record, one regulator document, one regulator query and one set of trial registry records. Each is listed below with its identifier.
What we could not retrieve, stated plainly: the full text of the 2026 study is behind a publisher wall that returned HTTP 403 to us, so every figure we print from it comes from the abstract, which is public. The abstract carries the infusion rates, the durations, the participant counts and the LH figures, and we have not printed anything from that paper that the abstract does not state.
The correction that shaped this page, recorded because it nearly shipped: our first search used the names kisspeptin-10, kisspeptin 10 and KP-10, and returned a chart of twenty two arms. An independent completeness pass found sixteen more, because one research group publishes under kisspeptin 112-121 and its papers never say kisspeptin-10 in the title or the abstract. Two fifths of the record was missing and the page would have read as complete.
What we cut, and why it is worth saying: the four minute half-life figure attached to kisspeptin-10 turned out to be true and better sourced than we expected, but only in the full text of the 2011 paper, not in its abstract. An earlier draft of this page described that figure as an animal number. It is a human number, from a sub-study built to measure it, and the animal work happens to agree.
Where the rules behind that live: our sourcing and citation verification standard sits on the methodology page linked above. A figure on this page that turns out to be wrong gets corrected there before it is corrected here.
Last reviewed: 9 August 2026.
-
1
Yeung AC, Phylactou M, Koysombat K, et al. Chronic subcutaneous kisspeptin-10 stimulates gonadotropin secretion for 12 days in healthy men. Eur J Endocrinol. 2026;195(2):206-216. Abstract read 9 August 2026 for the infusion rates, the durations, the participant counts and the LH figures; the publisher full text returned HTTP 403. doi:10.1093/ejendo/lvag134. PMID 42549827.
-
2
George JT, Veldhuis JD, Roseweir AK, et al. Kisspeptin-10 is a potent stimulator of LH and increases pulse frequency in men. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2011;96(8):E1228-E1236. Source for the 0.01 to 3.0mcg/kg bolus range, the peak at 1mcg/kg, the reduced response at 3mcg/kg, and the 1.5 and 4mcg/kg per hour infusions. doi:10.1210/jc.2011-0089. PMID 21632807.
-
3
Jayasena CN, Nijher GM, Comninos AN, et al. The effects of kisspeptin-10 on reproductive hormone release show sexual dimorphism in humans. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2011;96(12):E1963-E1972. Free full text read 9 August 2026, HTTP 200, for the five study protocols, the subcutaneous ladder, the infusion rates, the gelofusine preparation and the plasma half-life sub-study. doi:10.1210/jc.2011-1408. PMID 21976724. PMC3232613.
-
4
Jayasena CN, Abbara A, Narayanaswamy S, et al. Direct comparison of the effects of intravenous kisspeptin-10, kisspeptin-54 and GnRH on gonadotrophin secretion in healthy men. Hum Reprod. 2015;30(8):1934-1941. Source for the three hour infusions at 0.1, 0.3 and 1.0 nmol/kg per hour and the LH area under the curve comparison. doi:10.1093/humrep/dev143. PMID 26089302.
-
5
George JT, Anderson RA, Millar RP. Kisspeptin-10 stimulation of gonadotrophin secretion in women is modulated by sex steroid feedback. Hum Reprod. 2012;27(12):3552-3559. Source for the 0.3mcg/kg intravenous bolus in follicular, postmenopausal and contraceptive groups. doi:10.1093/humrep/des326. PMID 22956346.
-
6
George JT, Veldhuis JD, Tena-Sempere M, Millar RP, Anderson RA. Exploring the pathophysiology of hypogonadism in men with type 2 diabetes: kisspeptin-10 stimulates serum testosterone and LH secretion in men with type 2 diabetes and mild biochemical hypogonadism. Clin Endocrinol (Oxf). 2013;79(1):100-104. Source for the 0.3mcg/kg bolus and the 11 hour infusion at 4mcg/kg per hour. doi:10.1111/cen.12103. PMID 23153270.
-
7
Skorupskaite K, George JT, Veldhuis JD, Millar RP, Anderson RA. Interactions between neurokinin B and kisspeptin in mediating estrogen feedback in healthy women. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2016;101(12):4628-4636. Source for the seven hour intravenous infusion at 4mcg/kg per hour in healthy women. doi:10.1210/jc.2016-2132. PMID 27636018.
-
8
Skorupskaite K, George JT, Veldhuis JD, Millar RP, Anderson RA. Neurokinin 3 receptor antagonism decreases gonadotropin and testosterone secretion in healthy men. Clin Endocrinol (Oxf). 2017;87(6):748-756. Source for the 0.3mcg/kg intravenous bolus given before and on day 7 in six healthy men. doi:10.1111/cen.13445. PMID 28802064.
-
9
Skorupskaite K, George JT, Veldhuis JD, Millar RP, Anderson RA. Neurokinin 3 receptor antagonism reveals roles for neurokinin B in the regulation of gonadotropin secretion and hot flashes in postmenopausal women. Neuroendocrinology. 2018;106(2):148-157. Source for the 0.3mcg/kg intravenous bolus in eleven postmenopausal women and for the reported absence of an LH effect. doi:10.1159/000473893. PMID 28380486.
-
10
Skorupskaite K, George JT, Veldhuis JD, Millar RP, Anderson RA. Kisspeptin and neurokinin B interactions in modulating gonadotropin secretion in women with polycystic ovary syndrome. Hum Reprod. 2020;35(6):1421-1431. Source for the seven hour intravenous infusion at 4mcg/kg per hour in women with polycystic ovary syndrome. doi:10.1093/humrep/deaa104. PMID 32510130.
-
11
George JT, Hendrikse M, Veldhuis JD, Clarke IJ, Anderson RA, Millar RP. Effect of gonadotropin-inhibitory hormone on luteinizing hormone secretion in humans. Clin Endocrinol (Oxf). 2017;86(5):731-738. Source for the 0.3mcg/kg intravenous bolus given to four men during a three hour co-infusion. doi:10.1111/cen.13308. PMID 28186349.
-
12
Ullah H, Nabi G, Zubair H, Ullah R, Shahab M. Age-dependent changes in the reproductive axis responsiveness to kisspeptin-10 administration in healthy men. Andrologia. 2019;51(4):e13219. Source for the single 1mcg/kg intravenous bolus across three age bands. doi:10.1111/and.13219. PMID 30590872.
-
13
Dhillo WS, Chaudhri OB, Patterson M, et al. Kisspeptin-54 stimulates the hypothalamic-pituitary gonadal axis in human males. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2005;90(12):6609-6615. Cited only for the kisspeptin-54 comparison: the 90 minute infusion at 4 pmol/kg per minute and the calculated plasma half-life of 27.6 plus or minus 1.1 minutes. This is a different molecule from the subject of this page. doi:10.1210/jc.2005-1468. PMID 16174713.
-
14
d'Anglemont de Tassigny X, Jayasena CN, Murphy KG, Dhillo WS, Colledge WH. Mechanistic insights into the more potent effect of KP-54 compared to KP-10 in vivo. PLoS One. 2017;12(5):e0176821. Mouse study, cited for the bloodstream half-lives of roughly 4 and 32 minutes, the ten minute repeat injection experiment and the c-FOS result. doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0176821. PMID 28464043. Correction published as PLoS One. 2018;13(1):e0192014, PMID 29370263.
-
15
Liu Z, Ren C, Jones W, et al. LC-MS/MS quantification of a neuropeptide fragment kisspeptin-10 (NSC 741805) and characterization of its decomposition product and pharmacokinetics in rats. J Chromatogr B Analyt Technol Biomed Life Sci. 2013;926:1-8. Source for the sequence and the alternative names, for the rat intravenous bolus of 1.0mg/kg, and for the in-tube decomposition half-lives of 6.8, 2.9 and 1.7 minutes. doi:10.1016/j.jchromb.2013.02.027. PMID 23524040.
-
16
Anderson RA, Millar RP. The roles of kisspeptin and neurokinin B in GnRH pulse generation in humans, and their potential clinical application. J Neuroendocrinol. 2022;34(5):e13081. Cited for the reported absence of desensitization in humans over 22 hours of continuous kisspeptin-10 at receptor saturating concentrations. doi:10.1111/jne.13081. PMID 34962670.
-
17
National Center for Biotechnology Information. PubChem compound summary for CID 25240297, kisspeptin-10 (human). Source for the molecular formula C63H83N17O14, the molar mass of 1302.4 grams per mole, and the synonym list carrying metastin 45-54 and KP-10. Retrieved 9 August 2026, HTTP 200. pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov.
-
18
U.S. Food and Drug Administration, openFDA. Two queries run 9 August 2026 and reported with the status each returned. The Drugs@FDA endpoint searched for kisspeptin returned HTTP 404 with the API's own body {"error":{"code":"NOT_FOUND","message":"No matches found!"}}: drugsfda.json query. The drug labeling endpoint searched for the same term returned HTTP 200 with two results, VEOZAH (fezolinetant, NDA216578) and LYNKUET (elinzanetant, NDA219469), each naming kisspeptin only inside its mechanism of action: label.json query.
-
19
Chan YM, Butler JP, Pinnell NE, et al. Kisspeptin resets the hypothalamic GnRH clock in men. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2011;96(6):E908-E915. Source for the single intravenous bolus of the C-terminal decapeptide, amino acids 112-121, in 13 healthy men. doi:10.1210/jc.2010-3046. PMID 21470997.
-
20
Chan YM, Butler JP, Sidhoum VF, Pinnell NE, Seminara SB. Kisspeptin administration to women: a window into endogenous kisspeptin secretion and GnRH responsiveness across the menstrual cycle. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2012;97(8):E1458-E1467. Source for "a bolus of kisspeptin 112-121 0.24 nmol/kg iv" in 27 women across three cycle phases, and 0.72 nmol/kg in four more. doi:10.1210/jc.2012-1282. PMID 22577171.
-
21
Young J, George JT, Tello JA, et al. Kisspeptin restores pulsatile LH secretion in patients with neurokinin B signaling deficiencies: physiological, pathophysiological and therapeutic implications. Neuroendocrinology. 2013;97(2):193-202. Source for the 12 hour intravenous infusion at 1.5mcg/kg per hour in four patients with TAC3 or TACR3 mutations. doi:10.1159/000336376. PMID 22377698.
-
22
Chan YM, Lippincott MF, Butler JP, et al. Exogenous kisspeptin administration as a probe of GnRH neuronal function in patients with idiopathic hypogonadotropic hypogonadism. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2014;99(12):E2762-E2771. Source for "intravenous boluses of kisspeptin (0.24 nmol/kg)" in 12 people with idiopathic hypogonadotropic hypogonadism. doi:10.1210/jc.2014-2233. PMID 25226293.
-
23
Lippincott MF, Chan YM, Delaney A, et al. Kisspeptin responsiveness signals emergence of reproductive endocrine activity: implications for human puberty. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2016;101(8):3061-3069. Source for "iv boluses of kisspeptin (0.24-2.4 nmol/kg)" in six men whose hypogonadotropic hypogonadism had reversed. doi:10.1210/jc.2016-1545. PMID 27214398.
-
24
Lippincott MF, Chan YM, Rivera Morales D, Seminara SB. Continuous kisspeptin administration in postmenopausal women: impact of estradiol on luteinizing hormone secretion. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2017;102(6):2091-2099. Source for "a continuous kisspeptin infusion (12.5 microg/kg/h) over 24 hours" in eight postmenopausal women, with 0.313mcg/kg boluses in a subset. doi:10.1210/jc.2016-3952. PMID 28368443.
-
25
Millar RP, Sonigo C, Anderson RA, et al. Hypothalamic-pituitary-ovarian axis reactivation by kisspeptin-10 in hyperprolactinemic women with chronic amenorrhea. J Endocr Soc. 2017;1(11):1362-1371. Source for "Vehicle or Kp-10 (1.5 microg/kg/h) was infused intravenously for 12 hours". doi:10.1210/js.2017-00328. PMID 29264460.
-
26
Chan YM, Lippincott MF, Kusa TO, Seminara SB. Divergent responses to kisspeptin in children with delayed puberty. JCI Insight. 2018;3(8):e99109. Source for the single intravenous bolus in eleven boys and four girls with delayed puberty, alongside healthy men. doi:10.1172/jci.insight.99109. PMID 29669934.
-
27
Nabi G, Ullah H, Khan S, et al. Changes in the responsiveness of the hypothalamic-pituitary-gonadal axis to kisspeptin-10 administration during pubertal transition in boys. Int J Endocrinol. 2018;2018:1475967. Source for the Tanner-stage-scaled intravenous boluses in 30 boys and the 1mcg/kg comparison in five adult men. doi:10.1155/2018/1475967. PMID 30046307.
-
28
Hoskova K, Kayton Bryant N, Chen ME, et al. Kisspeptin overcomes GnRH neuronal suppression secondary to hyperprolactinemia in humans. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2022;107(8):e3515-e3525. Source for "kisspeptin 112-121 (0.24 nmol/kg) was administered every 1 hour, for 10 hours" in eleven women. doi:10.1210/clinem/dgac166. PMID 35323937.
-
29
Naveed A, Lippincott MF, Stamou M, et al. Dynamic modulation of LH secretion by continuous kisspeptin infusion in healthy men. Hormones (Athens). 2026. Source for "a continuous intravenous infusion of kisspeptin-10 at a dose of 12.5 mcg/kg/h for 24 h" in three men, for the LH range of 2.8 to 3.8 rising to 17.5 to 30.6 milli-international units per milliliter within 12 to 20 hours, and for the subsequent decline of 13 to 47 percent. doi:10.1007/s42000-026-00795-y. PMID 42230485.
-
30
Terse PS, Peggins J, Seminara SB. Safety evaluation of KP-10 (metastin 45-54) following once daily intravenous administration for 14 days in dog. Int J Toxicol. 2021;40(4):337-343. Dog study, cited for the 30, 100 and 1,000mcg/kg daily amounts, the 14 day dosing period with a 14 day recovery, and the reported no observed adverse effect level. doi:10.1177/10915818211023459. PMID 34126799.
-
31
Jayasena CN, Nijher GM, Chaudhri OB, et al. Subcutaneous injection of kisspeptin-54 acutely stimulates gonadotropin secretion in women with hypothalamic amenorrhea, but chronic administration causes tachyphylaxis. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2009;94(11):4315-4323. Kisspeptin-54, not the subject of this page, cited for "twice-daily sc injections of kisspeptin (6.4 nmol/kg) or 0.9% saline (n = 5 per group) for 2 wk". doi:10.1210/jc.2009-0406. PMID 19820030.
-
32
Jayasena CN, Nijher GM, Abbara A, et al. Twice-weekly administration of kisspeptin-54 for 8 weeks stimulates release of reproductive hormones in women with hypothalamic amenorrhea. Clin Pharmacol Ther. 2010;88(6):840-847. Kisspeptin-54, not the subject of this page, cited for the sentence that twice-weekly administration "resulted in only partial desensitization, in contrast to the complete tolerance achieved with twice-daily administration". doi:10.1038/clpt.2010.204. PMID 20980998.
-
33
ClinicalTrials.gov, four interventional records read through the registry API on 9 August 2026, each returning HTTP 200. NCT05633966, completed 31 August 2025, 13 actual participants, intervention described as "SC administration of kisspeptin for two weeks (pulsatile, approximately every 90 minutes)", no results posted. NCT02956447, completed 29 July 2023, 36 actual participants, intervention "Kisspeptin 112-121: 0.313 ug/kg - 2 ug/kg IV or SC", results posted. NCT04648969, completed 31 August 2025, 18 actual participants, "20 intravenous doses". NCT04958109, completed 31 October 2022, 16 actual participants, kisspeptin 112-121 intravenously for 16 hours. None of the four states an infusion rate.
-
34
Lippincott MF, Chan YM, Seminara SB, et al. Assessing sex steroid influence on kisspeptin responsiveness in idiopathic hypogonadotropic hypogonadism. J Endocr Soc. 2018;2(12):1293-1301. Free full text read 9 August 2026, HTTP 200, for "During both visits, all patients received at least one bolus of kisspeptin-10 at 0.24 nmol/kg". doi:10.1210/js.2018-00183. PMID 30430143.
-
35
Lippincott MF, Leon S, Chan YM, et al. Hypothalamic reproductive endocrine pulse generator activity independent of neurokinin B and dynorphin signaling. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2019;104(10):4304-4318. Free full text read 9 August 2026, HTTP 200, for the bolus amounts of 0.24, 0.72 and 2.4 nmol/kg and for "kp-10 was administered as a continuous infusion (9.5 nmol/kg/h) for 12 hours". doi:10.1210/jc.2019-00146. PMID 31132118.
-
36
Chan YM, Lippincott MF, Marino R, et al. Using kisspeptin to predict pubertal outcomes for youth with pubertal delay. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2020;105(5):e2717-e2725. Free full text read 9 August 2026, HTTP 200, for "kisspeptin-10 0.313 mcg/kg given intravenously". doi:10.1210/clinem/dgaa162. PMID 32232399.
-
37
Shamas S, Bibi M, Shahab M, et al. Changes in irisin release in response to peripheral kisspeptin-10 administration in healthy and obese adult men. Acta Endocrinol (Buchar). 2019;15(3):283-289. Free full text read 9 August 2026, HTTP 200, for "Kisspeptin-10 was administered (0.5 microg/kg BW) as an intravenous bolus". doi:10.4183/aeb.2019.283. PMID 32010344.
-
38
Galbiati F, Plessow F, Toth AT, et al. Sex-dependent increases in oxytocin levels in response to intravenous kisspeptin in humans. Eur J Endocrinol. 2025;192(2). Not charted above because its endpoint is oxytocin rather than gonadotropins, but it is a kisspeptin-10 administration study and belongs in the count: a 0.24 nmol/kg bolus in 12 healthy adults, half of them women. doi:10.1093/ejendo/lvaf001. PMID 39965102.
-
39
Galbiati F, Plessow F, Fitzgerald MJ, et al. Intravenous kisspeptin 112-121 bolus does not acutely impact circulating vasopressin in humans. J Neuroendocrinol. 2026:e70114. Not charted above for the same reason, its endpoint being vasopressin: twelve healthy adults, half of them women, received one intravenous bolus. doi:10.1111/jne.70114. PMID 41273106.
-
40
U.S. Food and Drug Administration. FDA Briefing Document, Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee Meeting, October 29, 2024: Kisspeptin-10. Retrieved 9 August 2026 with a browser user agent, HTTP 200, 3,867,284 bytes, text extracted from the PDF. Source for the nomination's proposed 1mg per mL subcutaneous and intramuscular solutions, for "There is no applicable United States Pharmacopeia (USP) or National Formulary (NF) drug substance monograph for kisspeptin-10, and kisspeptin-10 is not a component of an FDA-approved drug", for the route and duration summary, and for "No published clinical trials were found that assessed the safety of kisspeptin-10 when administered chronically or on a fixed schedule for over one day." fda.gov briefing document. We did not retrieve the committee's own minutes, so no vote is reported on this page.
-
41
Krombholz S, Korsmeier L, Thomas A, Thevis M. Analysis and characterization of kisspeptin and its analogues in serum and urine samples by liquid chromatography-high-resolution mass spectrometry for doping control purposes. Drug Test Anal. 2026;18(7):862-876. Cited for its statement that testosterone-stimulating peptides are prohibited for male athletes by WADA, that kisspeptin and its isoforms KP-14, KP-13 and KP-10 are among them, and that they were included in the Prohibited List in 2024. The WADA list itself returned a bot challenge rather than a document, so this peer reviewed paper is the authority we used and we say so. doi:10.1002/dta.70081. PMID 42057309.
-
42
MacLean DB, Matsui H, Suri A, Neuwirth R, Colombel M. Sustained exposure to the investigational kisspeptin analog, TAK-448, down-regulates testosterone into the castration range in healthy males and in patients with prostate cancer: results from two phase 1 studies. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2014;99(8):E1445-E1453. A different molecule from the subject of this page, cited for its own description of TAK-448 as "an investigational oligopeptide analog of the fully active 10-amino acid C terminus of kisspeptin-54", for the 14 day subcutaneous administration at 0.01 to 1mg per day in healthy subjects aged 50 or older, and for the direction of the testosterone result stated in its title. doi:10.1210/jc.2013-4236. PMID 24762108.
The disclaimer
Every page is reviewed by medical professionals before it ships, and written with longtime biohackers who were doing this before it was a trend. Reviewed still does not mean prescribed: nothing here is medical advice.
It is research, trial data, and reported use, with the numbers intact so you can check them. For decisions about your body, see a doctor who can look at your labs.
The weekly briefing
Get the next compound reference.
New compound guides, new calculators, and the math behind the next panic post. One clear email a week.
Education only, never medical advice. Unsubscribe anytime.